Ladera Master Plan (South Virginia corridor)
Ladera Master Plan in Reno, NV: 161 acres on South Virginia south of Mt. Rose Highway, 39 acres Neighborhood Commercial, approved July 22, 2026.
Project facts
- Status
- Entitled
- Submarket
- South Reno, South Virginia corridor
- Address
- West side of South Virginia Street south of Mt. Rose Highway, Reno, NV (street address not disclosed)
- Size
- 161.2 acres, ~39 acres Neighborhood Commercial; SF TBD
- Developer
- Not disclosed
- Timeline
- Planning Commission recommendation July 1, 2026; City Council approval July 22, 2026 (5-1); referred to the regional planning agency for conformance review; first development expected 2028 or later; site plan, permits, and opening TBD
- Last updated
- Committed tenants
- None publicly announced
What it is
Ladera is a 161.2-acre master plan on the west side of South Virginia Street south of Mt. Rose Highway in South Reno, with roughly 39 acres zoned Neighborhood Commercial. Developer: not disclosed. Status as of September 16, 2026: entitled, approved by Reno City Council on July 22, 5-1, per NVBEX.
Acreage and land-use split are per This Is Reno and the City of Reno's July 22 council agenda, via our July 2026 permit watch: about 87 acres go to parks and open space and about 32 acres stay industrial. Commercial square footage, site plan, and phasing: TBD. Hub: What's Coming to Reno.
Status as of September 2026
Entitled. Reno City Council approved the master plan on July 22, 2026, 5-1, per NVBEX. It now goes to the regional planning agency for conformance review, per our mid-year outlook; outcome and date TBD. Site plan and permits: TBD.
Our fall 2026 tracker update calls it the first new commercial entitlement of scale on this corridor in years. Per that update, first development is expected in 2028 or later.
Timeline
- July 1, 2026: Reno Planning Commission unanimously recommends approval, per This Is Reno and the city's July 22 council agenda.
- July 22, 2026: City Council approves the master plan, 5-1, per NVBEX.
- After July 22, 2026: Referred to the regional planning agency for conformance review, per our mid-year outlook and fall 2026 update; outcome and date TBD.
- 2028 and later: First development expected, per our fall 2026 update.
- Site plan, permits, construction start, opening: TBD.
Who is in
No tenants, anchors, or developer have been named in any source we track. Neighborhood Commercial is not power-center zoning, as we noted in the July permit watch.
Next door, Costco's proposed warehouse at South Virginia Street and Veterans Parkway is still a pre-application with no formal permit, per the City of Reno, and the Reno Gazette-Journal has reported it as one component of a larger retail center. Per our fall update, this is the only stretch of South Virginia with large-format land left.
What it means for tenants, owners, and investors
Tenants. From the July permit watch: this is years from a shovel, and tenants looking at 2028 and beyond should put it on the map. South Reno vacancy has run below 2% all year, per our Q1 and Q2 2026 reports, near 1.5% in Q2; Class A second-generation inline space is $2.00 to $2.35 per square foot per month and new construction needs $4.00 or more to pencil, per the Q2 report. Sign good existing space now; see our South Reno guide.
Owners. If you own retail on South Virginia between The Summit and Washoe Valley, the July permit watch counted Ladera among three items that put public or institutional money behind specific corridors, and its read is that corridors with catalysts reprice before the catalysts open. Costco next door is not on that list yet: the same post says not to underwrite a pad beside it on the assumption until a site plan is filed. Price 2027 renewals with that in mind. If a sale is in your plan, our sell-or-hold guide walks through the math.
Investors. Land here is an entitlement play, not an income play, and the July permit watch's advice to land investors stands: read the fiscal analysis. The Federal Reserve's September 16 hike to 3.75% to 4.00% and a 10-year Treasury at 5.01% the day before, both per CNBC, raise the carry on land that delivers in 2028 or later. Stabilized multi-tenant Reno retail trades near 6.0% to 6.5% cap rates, per our Q2 2026 report. Our fall update expects the institutional bid to hold for grocery-anchored and lifestyle product with in-place occupancy above 95% and to thin out for everything else, which is where a local buyer with local knowledge should be looking. See our off-market and NNN investment pages.
Sources
- This Is Reno and the City of Reno's July 22, 2026 council agenda (recommendation, acreage, land-use split), via our July 2026 permit watch
- NVBEX (Council approval, 5-1, July 2026), via our mid-year outlook and fall 2026 update; the referral to the regional planning agency is reported in those same posts
- City of Reno permit status statements and Reno Gazette-Journal (Costco, September 2026), via our fall 2026 update
- Our Q1 2026 and Q2 2026 market reports (June and August 2026)
- CNBC (Federal Reserve decision and 10-year Treasury, September 2026), via our fall 2026 update
Sources
- This Is Reno (July 2026)
- City of Reno, July 22, 2026 council agenda (July 2026)
- NVBEX (July 2026)
- City of Reno permit status statements (Costco, September 2026)
- Reno Gazette-Journal (Costco larger-center report, cited September 2026)
- Our Q1 2026 market report (June 2026)
- Our Q2 2026 market report (August 2026)
- CNBC (September 2026)
Project details come from public filings and news reports and may change. Confirm status, timing, and availability with the developer or the listing broker before relying on them.
Looking for space near Ladera Master Plan (South Virginia corridor)?
Tell Ian about your business and preferred location. He can help investigate current availability and compare nearby options; this project page is not a listing or a promise of available space.
- Start with your name and email. Add your concept or timing if you know it.
- Ian can help compare locations and investigate current space options.
- Brokerage relationships, availability and any fees will be discussed directly with you.

Ian Cochran, CCIM
Partner, LOGIC Commercial Real Estate
Brokerage services provided by LOGIC Commercial Real Estate, NV Lic# B.145434.LLC. LOGIC leases some of the properties tracked here; I will disclose any landlord relationship up front.
Related Articles
What's Coming to Reno Retail: Fall 2026 Update to the Development Tracker
Fall 2026 update to our Reno-Sparks retail pipeline tracker: Smith's at Kiley Ranch, Double R timing, the Downtown Damonte floodplain review, two center sales, and a Fed hike.
Reno Permit Watch: In-N-Out, Ladera, and a Downtown Storefront Pilot
July 2026 Reno retail permit roundup: the In-N-Out building permit, the 161-acre Ladera plan, Double R Marketplace timing, and the downtown storefront pilot.
Reno Retail at Mid-Year 2026: 7 Things That Changed Since January
Mid-year 2026 Reno retail check: 3.5% vacancy, $122 million in center sales, a Fed that stopped cutting, named anchors, and what to do about each.
Compare other Reno-Sparks projects
Review each project's status and sources before comparing locations or asking about space.